Lotus Leaf Tea for Meee

2014-10-23 08.17.48

First morning back in Aberdeen after a lovely time home in Teesside. I had scheduled in a bit of indulgence while I was there – which I very much enjoyed 😉 but the aftermath is a few days of feeling a bit under par 😢.

Should I reach for a packet of over the counter meds to trick me into feeling better while actually poisoning kidneys and liver?  Hmmm, no thanks. I’ll go for a bit of TCM – Traditional Chinese Medicine simply in the form of Lotus Leaf Tea.

Research that was conducted in Japan has shown that lotus leaf can be associated with a slowing down of the absorption of fat and carbohydrates, and even an increase in metabolism. Containing phytochemicals, alkaloids, flavonoids and tannins, lotus leaves are rich in antioxidants and a great addition to any diet.

The lotus plant originated in India and is currently cultivated primarily for food and herbal medicine.

Lotus leaf tea is a remedy that treats the stomach, spleen, liver and helps the body to detox.

Lotus leaf tea is also effective against high blood pressure because of the tea’s alkaloid content, according to the Institute of Traditional Medicine. The tea’s calming properties also alleviate restlessness, heart palpitations and insomnia (not that I have those, I haven’t been on a bender or anything!).

So, reach for some traditional medicine to sooth you back to full fettle!

Leave a comment